finally here

Sometimes I think God works in mysterious ways just to remind us that we don’t have Him figured out.  Our move to Boulder has been mysterious indeed, and each day God unfolds a little bit more of God’s grace and goodness.  But I’m learning that it’s not just good because He can does things for us, but it’s good because of who He is.  I don’t expect anything to work out the way I want anymore, but instead I just hold my hands up in surrender and trust implicitly in God’s goodness.

When Ben and I decided to move to Boulder we thought God would open radical doors to confirm His will.  Instead, doors shut.  One door after another slammed in our faces.  We couldn’t find a place to live.  Ben couldn’t find a job.  Our insurance had run out, and to make matters worse, I was in the middle of my third pregnancy.  The worries began to pile on as each door closed not only made me question our calling, but made me face the reality that we were about to be very poor, jobless, homeless and adding a new child into this mess.  The week before we were supposed to leave, and Ben’s last week at the Church, we received a phone call – Ben got a job and he was going to be starting June 6th.  One prayer answered, but still, no home.  The last day on Ben’s job at the Church, he preached on the cost of following Christ.  It was an easy message for him, because it came directly from his own experience over the past month.  He was preaching on the fires of tribulation and his clothes were still on fire from what we were going through.  At the close of the message a woman approached him and asked him where we were going to live… ummm- we don’t know.  All we knew was that we had felt God calling us to Boulder in June and that Ben had a job lined up.  Then she handed us the keys to her place – it was vacant for two months and it was in central Boulder.  We got to live there rent-free for two months.

God has taught me that His path is not always easy, but He travels it with us.  A week later, I was given a job where I would be able to work from home.  We are planting a Church, and we are going to have to work harder than we have ever worked in our lives.  And yet, here we are, in Boulder.  While I was busy looking for homes and driving to Boulder twice a week to search out places, God was lining up a place for us, rent-free.  While I was busy filling out applications for Ben, God had a job in place – no application needed.  I have learned to not try to force things.  I do my part and I sit back and let God direct my steps, after all, I have said all my life, that I am traveling on the narrow path.  Well, if this is true, then I guess I better be willing to accept God’s path for my life instead of my own.

I still ache to see our Church start.  I long to meet people and get to be a witness.  And I desperately desire for God to give me boldness and Divine encounters!  This is what I desperately desire more than anything.  This is why I left my family and comfort.  This is why we came to Boulder.

Leave a Reply

